Holidays
Local
Radar
Windy?
Sign in to follow this  
barnabypage

Query: European Winters In The Early 1920s

Hi. I'm new to this forum (and largely to this subject) and hope somebody here can help me, even if only by pointing me toward other sources.

I need to get a general impression of weather conditions at these places and times:

Bucharest, winter of 1920-21

Nancy, winter of 1921-22

Belgrade, winter of 1921-22

Frankfurt, winter of 1922-23

Budapest, winter of 1922-23

It doesn't have to be precise day-by-day data - I just need to know, for example, if those winters in those locations were unusually bitter or unusually mild, whether there was exceptional snowfall, and so on.

(I'm a writer of historical fiction, among other things, and I like to get the facts right as far as I can!)

Thanks.

A very interesting subject indeed, Weather History (AKA Mr Data) should be able to give you some info. Or Terminal Marine...?

Welcome to NetWeather !

PM

Welcome to netweather, barnabypage. Hope you enjoy the forums...good.gif

Hi barnabypage, I can give you some general info

Bucharest, winter of 1920-21

Nancy, winter of 1921-22: drought continued from the summer for central and southern Europe during December 1921, Rhine unusually low. Cold mid January

Belgrade, winter of 1921-22: severe cold and snow during February 1922, Sarajevo was cut off by snow on the 9th Feb

Frankfurt, winter of 1922-23: cold, snowy mid December, mild February

Budapest, winter of 1922-23.: flooding on the Danube around the 14th Feb 1923

Can't find any specifics for winter 1920-21 in the Bucharest region but it was a very mild January across large parts of Europe

Edited by Weather-history
  • Like 1

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

• Similar Content

• By Scribbler