Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

chrisbell-nottheweatherman

Newspaper websites

I was going to post this in the Lounge section, but wondered whether the references to newspaper websites might require it to be posted here. 

Just recently, I've noticed a perceptible decline in the quality of many of the Guardian's online news, analysis and opinion columns.  Although some of this has been in articles relating to the Labour leadership campaigns, in which the paper has been less than balanced in its reporting on the candidates, I'm not a supporter of any one of them, so I don't want to get into that debate.  In general, I've been aware of a decline for a while now, and decide, the other week, to set-up an online ID on the Independent website, as, when I was a Sixth-Form student some time late last millennium and would flick through the copy on their magazine rack, it was a damn good broadsheet, albeit at times a bit "arty" for a heathen science type.  Anyway, today, I decided to log in to the Independent site, and chose an article on new carbon-dating of a wooden statue found in Russia during the late 19th century.  It appears that this statue was around 2000 years older than previously thought, suggesting that hunter-gatherers in the Urals had sophisticated culture at the same time as farming was appearing in the Middle East.  I then scrolled-down to the comments, and was left staggered by this:

Theories based on theories based on theories... all presented as fact.

See Darwinism, Gravity, Big Bangs and other disprovable 'science'.

I thought some of the comments on the Guardian site were bad enough, but the assertion that gravitation is disprovable floored me :shok: .  Anyway, what I'm getting-at is, if not the Independent, then where, for a moderate left-of-centre person who has no delusions of great intellect but who still wouldn't have any interest in the Mirror's online presence?  Any suggestions gratefully received! 8)