Snow?
Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

Barlett High

Posted

Hi- I was just wondering what a Barlett High is?

when i look in the Model output discussion and sometimes people are saying about a Barlett high being bad in winter or something like that.

I was just why is it not good in winter and what it is? Also just wondering what weather it brings?

Sorry if there's already been a topic on this.

Because of my age im still learning very quickly and am wanting to be a Meteorologist so much when i am older, there are so many things i dont understand and feel that Net Weather will help me alot rolleyes.gif

Thankyou Ryan biggrin.gif

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Sunshine and 15-25c

my understanding of the bartlett high is that is when the azores high gets displaced in winter north east across spain and the bay of bsicay into france and much of the western med.. this causes most of north west europe to suffer from long periods of mild to very mild south westerly winds with little in the way of cold and not mcuh if any snow or frost. These areas of high pressure can be very stubborn to move and can last for weeks at a time and have a habit of reforming one after another during mild winters as the jet becomes locked into the same pattern...often common when there is a + NAO AND +AO and also when there is a strong El nino event.

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: obviously snow!

I think this is one, from the christmas pudding, I got 15°C on this day

www.wetterzentrale.de/archive/ra/2004/Rrea00120040204.gif

not what I wanna see but at least its normally dry down here, much better than the setup from thurs this week

Posted

Thankyourolleyes.gif

also thankyou for showing that chart, because now i know what they look like on the charts.

Im not very good with understanding charts but still enjoy looking at the model output because its helping me learn.

Posted
  • Weather Preferences: Thunder, snow, heat, sunshine...

Hi LB... :lol: