Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

J10

Windows 7

I am thinking of upgrading to Windows 7, is is better than Vista, and is it worth the cost.

Perhaps more importantly, how smooth is the transition/upgrade process.

It looks exactly like Vista, apart from a few minor changes, it is basically the same, I'd stick with Vista, upgrading is pointless unless you want a slightly different look to your desktop and some other small features

It looks exactly like Vista, apart from a few minor changes, it is basically the same, I'd stick with Vista, upgrading is pointless unless you want a slightly different look to your desktop and some other small features

stick with vista??.....drop vista like a hot coal!....I've been testing Windows 7 last release candidate for a few months now on an Athlon xp4800 2Gb Ram rig.....After some serious benchmarking, Windows 7 is far faster than Vista, its the operating system vista should've been, and UAC is far less intrusive than Vista, a big thumbs up from me

stick with vista??.....drop vista like a hot coal!....I've been testing Windows 7 last release candidate for a few months now on an Athlon xp4800 2Gb Ram rig.....After some serious benchmarking, Windows 7 is far faster than Vista, its the operating system vista should've been, and UAC is far less intrusive than Vista, a big thumbs up from me

How easy is the upgrade from Vista.

I didn't pay for it but my copies are legal.

Errr. Upgrade from vista fairly easy one or two problems with my weather programs all solved bar weather display which doesn't like writing too it's own directory despite having the correct permissions.

My network printer wouldn't work on one machine re-installing it fixed that.

Otherwise best upgrade since windows 2000.

Only further nag I've got is one my window 7 machines won't shut down so I've got to find which program is stopping it.