Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

kippure

Controlling The Internet

Some weird stuff here

Bascially under homeland security laws. They us Gov are now building the internet 2. Which means they will control the content of what you see and where you see it.

The internet will be subscription based and you will be charged by the mega byte. You will not be able to asscess the internet they way we do now.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U-XaZFnQMME

Surfing around the net suggests that (fortunately) it is probably a hoax.

Im an electronic / electrical engineer. I can tell you its very possible when i hear the likes of bell and telus getting together to do such a thing. Can you imagation the revenue they could bring in if they charged everyone who use,s the internet.

The internet can be switched off like a light switch. Once you own the networks you can do anything you want.

I can see your point- especially with the way various aspects of internet use are going (online activation DRM and online pay-per-view for example) it's not implausible by any means.

I don't think any company would be able to get away with taking full control of the internet at the flick of a switch. What we have to be careful of, though, is the possibility of something like that being phased in gradually in small increments (the rise of DRM happened this way for instance).

The Internet wont be fun once the government starts controlling it and bans access to most if not all weather and climate papers! :)

Don't we already pay for Internet use ..... :nea:

It's already censored in every country to some degree ..... :hi:

And are we not going to have 'broadband tax' so it will even be taxed .... twice in the UK :(