Jump to content

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

stormchaser1

Beware Opening Emails

Recommended Posts

I apologies if this is in the wrong area , or has been started before, but i thought i better bring this to your attention,

I have just received a email from a friend on Facebook

This is what was said

==============================

THIS IS VERY SERIOUS, PLEASE SEND TO EVERYONE ON YOUR E-MAIL LIST!!

Anyone-using Internet mail such as Yahoo, Hotmail,

AOL and so on.

This information arrived this morning,

Direct from both Microsoft and Norton

Please send it to everybody you know who has

access to the Internet.

You may receive an apparently harmless e-mail titled 'Mail Server Report'

If you open either file, a message will appear on your screen saying:

'It is too late now, your life is no longer beautiful.'

Subsequently you will LOSE EVERYTHING IN YOUR PC,

And the person who sent it to you will gain access to your

name, e-mail and password.

This is a new virus which started to circulate on Saturday afternoon.

AOLhas already confirmed the severity, and the anti virus software's

are not capable of destroying it.

The virus has been created by a hacker who calls himself

'life owner'.

PLEASE SEND A COP Y OF THIS E-MAIL

TO ALL YOUR FRIENDS, And ask them to

PASS IT ON IMMEDIATELY!

THIS HAS BEEN CONFIRMED BY SNOPES.

nigel

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just recently received an email from a hoax pretending to be PayPal:

Dear Pay-Pal Member,

This is your official notification from Pay-pal Management that the service listed below

will be deactivated and deleted if not renewed immediately. Previous notifications have

been sent to the Billing Contact assigned to this account. As the Primary Contact, you

must renew the service listed below or it will be deactivated and deleted.

Renew Now your Pay-Pal Online Account

SERVICE: Pay-Pal Online Account Renew

EXPIRATION: September, 9 2009

(Note: for reasons that should hopefully be obvious, I didn't paste the link which came with "Renew")

I got taken in by the email but fortunately Firefox blocked the link and came up with a warning message saying it was a hoax. Other internet browers may or may not have equivalent functionality however...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I had one from Microsoft telling me to upgrade security software for MSN. Which is odd as I use a old version than the rubbish new "flash" version anyway. I promptly deleted it without opening the Email anyway, I have AVG and 2x Firewalls that scan everything incoming and out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...