Local
Radar
Cold?
IGNORED

The Novice's Chart Thread

smich

Posted

Hi All,

I've noticed how many appreciative comments appear when our resident forecasters (and others) post forecasts in plain English. Furthermore, after reading one of Steve Murr posts (which are more technical than most) I hit on the idea of creating a thread where those who DON'T understand synoptic charts can come and post their thought/opinions/questions.

One rule: No acronyms. "The CET will be lower because the GH is affected by the PFJ leading to a -NAO" won't help us.

I must stress - I'm a novice too (although I've learn't a lot these last few months). I'm hoping that some of the "seniors" will pop in every now and again and offer their guidance. Also, I recommend we all pop into the Net Weather Guides section as much as possible. There's plenty of help there too.

I'm going to start with a chart I DO recognise cos it's similar to ones we see on the beeb:

brack2.gif

It's certainly topical: Midday Thursday! ;) Exciting times... but now I'll add a chart that I find much harder to fathom, even though it looks similar (even if it is in colour!)

Rtavn661.gif

As I understand it, this chart is the forecast relating to the "upper level" of our atmosphere with air that is 500 millibars thick. That's at about 18,000 feet apparently. Should we expect to see a lot of differences? I find it really tough getting my head round the "depth" element to this chart.

Anybody got any info they've picked up that could help me here?

Smich

Posted
  • Location: Stewartstown (51m asl) , N.Ireland. (In Dazzling Dazza Land)

Hi Smich, what a great idea. Maybe we could get this one pinned (a request if any mods are looking in).

Smich, I am sorry I cannot offer any help on your chart (as I am a novice too), but you or someone else may be able to answer a simple question I have about the 500hpa chart - what do the negative figures represent on the chart?

I would be grateful for any help.

Posted

Smich